The SWFAS Golden Trowel Award was started in the early 1980’s by Art Lee and John Beriault to award outstanding work and dedication to SWFAS. The award is awarded by the president of SWFAS at his/her discretion to a deserving individual and is to be awarded at a SWFAS meeting. The award itself, consists of an archaeological trowel, spray painted gold and has a small plaque with the following: SWFAS GOLDEN TROWEL AWARD, THE NAME OF THE RECIPIENT AND THE YEAR.


At the March 21st SWFAS meeting at the IMAG in Ft, Myers, Florida, Jim Oswald was presented the SWFAS Presidential “Golden Trowel” Award for 2018. Jim joined SWFAS in 2001 and has been involved in many excavations over the years. He has held several positions on the Board of Trustees and has been the SWFAS Vice President the last two years. Jim is a SCUBA diver and enjoyed cave diving here in Florida. He commented, “I’ve had so much fun with this organization over the years”. 


Theresa Schober was awarded a Golden Trowel award at the April SWFAS meeting in Naples, FL for her many contributions to SWFAS and archaeology in Southwest Florida. Theresa joined SWFAS in 2001 and has made major contributions to the continued existence, success and relevance of SWFAS. Her research has centered on the Calusa in Southwest Florida. She was the major excavator of the Mound House on Ft. Myers Beach and the Mt. Elizabeth Site in Martin County, and has been involved in most of the archaeology in this area. She served as FAS President from 2015 to 2017, First Vice President from 2013 to 2015, Second Vice President from 2009 to 2013, and has been the SWFAS Chapter Representative to the FAS for many years as well as serving as an advisory committee member for the production of Florida Archaeology Month posters. In 2014, Theresa received the FAS Presidents Award recognizing her many contributions to Florida Archaeology.




These individuals provided outstanding support to SWFAS.

1984       Joe Long
1985       Art Lee
1986       John Beriault
1988       Mary Ruth Winchell
1989       Walt Buschelman
1990       Lynn Lee
1991       Jean Belknap
1992       Jack Thompson
1993       Charlie Strader
1995       Ray Seguin
1997       Bud House
2017       Susan Harrington
2017       Charlie Strader
2018       Jim Oswald

2018       Theresa Schober